companybig

Company Kitchen/Orderly Room

This building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

This is an original building built by the 5th Infantry Regiment of the United States Army between 1831 and 1835. We do not know exactly how this building was used in 1836 but we interpret it as a Company Kitchen/Orderly Room. After the fort was dismantled the building was used as a private residence and a museum before coming to Heritage Hill in 1975. The architecture style is of the Federalist period, framed construction with dormer windows.

Building Facts

Original Build Date Circa 1835
Original Location Kellogg and Chestnut Streets
Construction Style Federal - Timber Frame
Original Owner US Army
Moved to Heritage Hill 1975

Showcase: